Ruby

Ruby is a 3 year old English Pointer that we adopted in January. She had successfully passed the obedience/socialization course under the Puppies for Parole program. She stayed an extra 2 1/2 weeks with her trainer due to our travel conflicts. She hopped right into the kennel and never made a peep during the 4 hour trip home.

She loves to go for car rides. We were told Ruby did not like loud noises. My husband doesn’t hunt so that was no problem, but I’m the chief cook and bottle washer in the family and I guess I’m a little noisy in my kitchen. It took Ruby about a week to start inching her way from the living room towards the kitchen to see what I was up to. Now we have a pet bed in the dining area and she will plop down in it and watch me without being fearful.

I walk her outside everyday and we have a coat for her to wear. She follows the “heel command” very well, I listen to my music and she’s look for birds and it is an enjoyable activity. On weekends, my husband joins us, the picture was a Sunday drive and then a cold walk along the Mississippi River. Ruby did great!

We’re very happy with Ruby. She’s social with family and friends, she’s very lovable and we’re glad we found each other. A special thanks to the trainer who did an excellent job in making this transition into a success story.

– Randy & Pat R.

